Okay, I don’t have Barbados officially marked on my schedule yet, but the Reverend Al Sharpton is there today to speak at a conference for young Barbadians about youth development. I decided to pass on Barbados in favor  because of the travel time involved. This island nation is as far east as you can get before the next stop is West Africa which for me seemed to mean a cumbersome sixteen hour flight back to Virginia. I will suck it up and deal with the flight timing eventually when I have the time and will include Trinidad in my trip to Rihanna’s homeland while I’m at it. The Reverend Al is in Barbados for two nights but probably didn’t take American Airlines – or at least not via the Sams Club packages that I presently work with.

When in Barbados I plan to stay at the Rostrevor Hotel. This hotel shows gorgeous views of the Caribbean sea, is just 15 minutes from the airport, within walking distance of shops and bus routes to Bridgetown which hopefully means you don’t spend a good bit of your time marooned, while waiting for a cab every time you need the smallest thing. The rooms include kitchenettes which are a nice thing to have if you feel like bringing outside food back to the room for later, or experimenting with local produce to make simple meals it can be done. Rostrevor is offering ocean front studios and apartments this summer for 115 USD/night. The offer is good through June 1, through September 30, 2010.

Click here to listen to my Barbados trip theme song:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GaElH0EHjIs